Call Toll-Free 24 Hours:

Michigan’s Hit-and-Run Car Accident Lawyers


Any car accident can cause pain and suffering from injuries you sustain. However, a hit-and-run accident can significantly affect your mental and physical health by not knowing where the driver fled after the incident. If you suffered injuries in a hit-and-run car accident, you need an experienced Michigan car accident lawyer on your side to help you file a claim to receive compensation.

The hit-and-run lawyers at Cochran, Kroll, & Associates, P.C. have the knowledge and resources to help you get the compensation you deserve for your injuries. We understand how traumatic it can be to suffer a hit-and-run accident and can help you with your accident claim. A lawyer from our team can help you understand your options to obtain compensation for your medical bills and lost wages.

What Is a Hit-and-Run Car Accident?

A hit-and-run accident occurs when a driver collides with another car and flees without stopping. It can also include not exchanging insurance information or failing to provide aid to anyone injured at the scene.

All drivers must stop at the scene of a car crash and call the police for assistance under Michigan law. If a negligent driver doesn’t stop after causing an accident, they may face criminal charges and be responsible for damages you suffer.

What are the Penalties for a Hit-and-Run Accident

As a result of leaving the scene of an accident, the following criminal penalties apply in Michigan:

  • A hit-and-run with vehicle damage can result in a misdemeanor charge. Criminal penalties include 90 days of jail time and a $100 fine.
  • Leaving an accident scene resulting in an injured person is a misdemeanor charge. You can face up to 1 year in prison, $1,000 in fines, and a license suspension.
  • If a hit-and-run accident results in serious physical injury or impairment, you could serve 5 years in prison and pay a fine of $5,000. A wrongful death in a hit-and-run accident increases the penalties to $10,000 and the jail term to 15 years.

You can avoid facing criminal penalties when following the proper procedures to ensure everyone’s safety and avoid legal liabilities. If you were a hit-and-run victim, reach out to a Michigan car accident lawyer to help you go over your next steps for compensation.

What to Do if You Are Involved in a Hit-and-Run Car Accident

You may wonder what to do next if you’ve been in a hit-and-run accident. Here are some steps to take following your accident:

  • Jot down identifying details of the fleeing driver and their car, including the make, model, and license plate number.
  • Call the police to report the accident and identify the hit-and-run driver, so they can find them.
  • Take pictures and videos of the accident scene, like your injuries and car damage.
  • Obtain the contact information of any witnesses who saw the accident.
  • If you have any injuries, seek medical attention as soon as possible to get treatment.
  • Call your auto insurance company to let them know you were in a hit-and-run accident and need to file a claim for no-fault benefits.

You can rely on our Michigan hit-and-run accident attorneys to guide you through every step of the insurance claim process. We can review your evidence, including your photographs, videos, police reports, and witness testimonies. That way, we can build a strong claim for the compensation you deserve for your injuries.


Filing an Auto Insurance Claim After a Hit-and-Run Accident

When you file a claim with your insurance company, the adjuster investigates the accident and determines whether you are eligible for coverage. Michigan auto insurance laws require all drivers to have no-fault insurance.

If the at-fault driver is never found, these no-fault benefits still apply, including:

  • Coverage for medical expenses
  • Lost wages for 3-years
  • Replacement services up to $20 per day for 3 years
  • Up to 56 hours per week of attendant services if you have severe injuries

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can also help cover any excess medical benefits beyond the limits of your auto insurance policy.

What if the Police Find the Driver Who Hit Me?

You can recover compensation for non-economic damages such as pain and suffering in a car accident lawsuit against the negligent driver. You may also pursue excess medical expenses and wages if they exceed your no-fault benefits.

After a hit-and-run accident, the personal injury lawyers with Cochran, Kroll, & Associates, P.C. can help you determine what insurance coverage is available to you. If the police or our legal team locate the negligent driver, we can help you bring a lawsuit.

When Can I File a Claim for a Hit-and-Run in Michigan?

In Michigan, you have 3 years from the accident date to file a personal injury lawsuit. You won’t recover damages if you do not file a lawsuit within this period.

Contacting a knowledgeable Michigan car accident lawyer for a free consultation as soon as possible after your accident helps you protect your rights and get the compensation you deserve.

Reach out to an Experienced Michigan Hit-and-Run Car Accident Lawyer

Our lawyers at Cochran, Kroll, & Associates, P.C. have decades of experience handling hit-and-run car accidents and can help you navigate the legal process. We can assist you in negotiating with the insurance company or filing a lawsuit for the compensation you deserve.

Our contingency fee basis means we only get paid if we win your case, so there is no financial risk to you to get started. Call our law firm today at 1-866-MICH-LAW and schedule your no-obligation, free case evaluation.


Testimonial Image


There is no obligation for a case evaluation & no fee is charged unless a recovery is made.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Your privacy is important to us. Cochran, Kroll & Associates, P.C. does not share, sell, rent, or trade personally identifiable or confidential information with third parties for any purpose.
Call Now Button