blog
Menu
Call Toll-Free 24 Hours:

Michigan Uber & Lyft Accident Lawyers

Consequences Of An Accident On The Road. A Car With A Broken Hoo

As a passenger in an Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare vehicles, you put your life and well-being into the driver’s hands. Uber reported 91 crashes from 2019 to 2020, with 101 fatalities resulting from those accidents. In addition, the introduction of ridesharing was linked to an increase of 2% to 3% in accident fatalities between 2011 and 2016.

Michigan law is unique regarding ridesharing companies. As a result, it can be tricky to figure out who is responsible for your injuries and understand how to gain compensation to pay for your medical bills and other expenses.

If you’ve been injured in a rideshare accident, a rideshare accident attorney from Cochran, Kroll, & Associates, P.C. can help. We have years of experience navigating rideshare accident cases. We can help you determine who was at fault for your injuries and pursue compensation for your car accident involving a rideshare driver.

Are No-Fault Benefits Available After a Rideshare Accident?

If you own a car and have auto insurance coverage under your name, you can apply for no-fault benefits with your insurance company. You are entitled to the following no-fault benefits under personal injury protection (PIP):

  • Coverage for medical bills up to the maximum coverage limit in your policy.
  • Wage loss and replacement services of $20 per day for up to 3 years after the accident date.
  • Attendant services for up to 56 hours per week from a family member, friend, or business associate.

You may pursue a claim for benefits if you don’t have auto insurance but have coverage under your spouse’s policy or another relative in your household. It is essential to consult your lawyer to determine which no-fault benefits apply to your injuries after a rideshare accident.

What to Do if You Do Not Have Auto Insurance Coverage in Michigan

No-fault benefits are not available to people who don’t own vehicles and lack auto insurance. In this case, you may file a claim with the insurance company of the Uber or Lyft driver. However, the rideshare driver’s liability coverage may differ based on whether they were on call or transporting a passenger at the time of the accident:

  • If the rideshare driver was logged into the rideshare company’s app and available to drive passengers, then the driver’s liability insurance coverage is at least $50,000 per person for a death or physical injury. The insurance coverage must be no less than $100,000 per incident for death or bodily injury.
  • If the rideshare driver was carrying a passenger, the rideshare company’s liability for all physical injuries is up to $1 million.
  • The rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance policy goes into effect once they are off the app.

These types of accidents can become complex, with varying liability insurance limits and the circumstances of the accident. For example, the rideshare driver might also be liable for pain and suffering damages if you were seriously injured and your medical bills exceeded the limits of your auto insurance.

An experienced accident attorney can assess the details of your case to help you file your auto insurance claim and determine your next legal steps.

bigstock-Car-Injury-Whiplash-Pain-Afte-437803082-min

What to Do if You’re in an Accident While Using Uber or Lyft?

The initial steps after a Lyft or Uber driver accident should be handled the same way as an auto accident. In the event of a car accident, the following steps are important to preserve your claim and your safety:

Seek Medical Attention

When you call 911, ensure to ask for emergency services to treat your injuries. Track your hospital visits, injuries, and follow-up appointments with your doctor after the accident. Remember to keep all medical records since they detail your injuries and treatment plans and are highly important for insurance claims.

File a Police Report

If you have been injured, it is essential that you speak with the police and that the police report thoroughly documents your injuries. In addition, if you wish to file a claim for no-fault insurance compensation, you will need a copy of the report and your medical records.

Preserve Evidence

Take pictures of the accident scene, including the weather and road conditions. If there were any witnesses, ask for their contact information to obtain their testimonies. As a rideshare passenger, a screenshot of your rideshare app at the time of the accident or a record of your ride history can prove the driver was working and help you obtain compensation.

You can also use the trip receipt to show the driver was on call and picked you up for travel.

Contact an Attorney to Protect Your Legal Interests

Before you apply for no-fault benefits, getting in touch with a rideshare accident lawyer is best. They can help you understand the no-fault laws and how they may apply to your case.

Why Do You Need a Lawyer After an Uber or Lyft Accident

As a no-fault state in Michigan, each driver’s insurance company will pay for their policyholder’s medical expenses and wage losses, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. This means your insurance company will typically be responsible for your medical expenses and lost wages, regardless of who was at fault for the accident.

When you get in touch with our law firm for a free consultation, an experienced lawyer can help you navigate the no-fault system and ensure you receive the benefits you’re entitled to.

There are circumstances under which you can file a third-party insurance claim or lawsuit against the at-fault driver. A lawyer could help you if you were injured by a driver working for a rideshare service but did not have adequate insurance coverage.

In this situation, you may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver and the rideshare company.

Michigan’s no-fault system can be confusing, so an experienced attorney can help determine your eligibility for compensation. If you’ve been involved in an Uber or Lyft accident, don’t try to handle everything on your own. You can contact a qualified rideshare accident lawyer at Cochran, Kroll & Associates, P.C., to discuss your legal options.

How Cochran, Kroll, & Associates, P.C. Can Help You Get Compensation

After a rideshare accident, you may feel overwhelmed by ongoing medical care, increasing bills, and physical and emotional damage. You can get legal help for your injury claims when you work with the lawyers at Cochran, Kroll, and Associates, P.C.

We have over 75 years of combined experience representing accident victims in Michigan with our knowledge of Michigan’s no-fault laws. Our personal injury lawyers can help you get the compensation you deserve through negotiation with the insurance company or filing a lawsuit.

Our contingency fee basis means we only get paid if we win your case, so there is no financial risk to you to get started. Call our law firm today at 1-866-MICH-LAW and schedule your no-obligation, free case evaluation.

RESULTS-DRIVEN TRACK RECORD

Testimonial Image

FREE CONSULTATION NO FEES UNTIL WE WIN

There is no obligation for a case evaluation & no fee is charged unless a recovery is made.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Your privacy is important to us. Cochran, Kroll & Associates, P.C. does not share, sell, rent, or trade personally identifiable or confidential information with third parties for any purpose.
Call Now Button