Physical Therapy and Rehab After a Car Crash in Michigan: Who Pays?
Legally Reviewed and Edited by: Terry Cochran
If you were injured in a car accident, the odds are you will need some form of physical therapy, whether it be for a short period or the rest of your life. With the help of an auto accident attorney at Cochran, Kroll & Associates P.C., you may not even have to pay a single cent for your treatment.
Who covers physical therapy and rehab expenses after car crash injuries?
As one of twelve no-fault states, Michigan car insurance coverage includes “personal injury protection” or “PIP” coverage.
This additional coverage pays for your medical treatments, including physical therapy following a car crash, regardless of who was responsible for the accident.
How much can you receive from your PIP coverage?
The cap amount is revised annually by the state. There are four different coverage caps to choose from: $50,000 (if you are enrolled in Medicaid); $250,000; $500,000; or no limit.
What does PIP coverage include?
- All medical costs relating to the injury caused by the accident.
- Current and future wages lost due to the injury, for up to three years.
- Up to $2o per day for “replacement services” which cover the expense of hiring someone to come to your home and carry out essential household duties you are unable to perform during the healing process.
PIP claims do not offer compensation for pain and suffering or other non-monetary damages brought forth by the accident.
When is the no-fault law not applicable?
You can choose to file a third-party insurance claim or a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver when:
- The accident caused severe impairment of your bodily functions, permanent and significant disfigurement, or death.
- The other driver is not a citizen of Michigan, and his car is not registered or insured in the state.
- The accident must have occurred outside of Michigan state-lines or
- Your insurance cannot cover the damages, the other driver must be at least 50% or more at fault, and the suit for damages to your car must be for $1,000 or less.
If one or more of these conditions apply in your situation, file a claim with a top personal injury lawyer in Michigan, like Eileen Kroll at Cochran, Kroll & Associates P.C. With a third-party claim, you can seek additional compensation for pain and suffering as well as non-economic damages.
How can I ensure I receive full coverage for my physical therapy expenses?
First and foremost, never accept a settlement without contacting a car accident attorney first. The seasoned attorneys at our law firm can fight for an appropriate settlement based on the severity of your injuries.
You will also need to collect substantial proof of your expenses as well as of your injuries. This is a necessary step, regardless of who was responsible for the crash and the related injuries.
How can I prove my expenses and injuries?
To verify your physical therapy and rehab expenses, keep receipts of all the payments you made throughout your (ongoing) recovery as well as doctor notes detailing the services rendered and your improvements.
When it comes to your injuries, ask your physician and physical therapists for their notes on your condition. Also, keep any documents about medical tests your caregiver carried out.
If you were injured in a car crash or if an insurance company has denied your claim, don’t hesitate to contact the best car accident attorneys in Michigan at Cochran, Kroll, & Associates P.C. Call us today at 866-MICH-LAW for a no-obligation consultation, so we can start fighting for the compensation you deserve. We will review your insurance policy for free and determine what steps you should take. Best of all, our law firm never charges a fee unless we win or settle your claim.
Disclaimer : The information provided is general and not for legal advice. The blogs are not intended to provide legal counsel and no attorney-client relationship is created nor intended.